Let me tell you what I know about love.

NOTHING.

I knew it was supposed to be the prerequisite for relationships, but growing up in a single-parent home, I thought love was scary. And painful.

Looking at relationships around me growing up and seeing how some work and some don’t, I thought it was a risky, risky endeavour to take on.

I knew love supposedly fuels friendships, but being one who has been openly disliked in school, I thought investing less saves one from unnecessary disappointments.

And so, it has always been a question of whether to love or not. And more often than not, I’d choose the latter.

Everything I knew about love was reduced to NOTHING when Love found me.

It was then that I understood that no one person cannot NOT love. One cannot love enough when one chooses to love the self more. That was the reason why I always chose not to love. I feared for myself. I loved myself more.

We cannot love enough because we love ourselves more.

But He loves us way more than we love ourselves. And He loved more than He loved Himself, He died the death we should have died.

Today, His love is EVERYTHING that I know about love.

Love is scary, but His perfect love casts out every fear. Love is painful, but His love heals broken hearts and binds up wounds. Love is risky, but if loving is what it takes for us to have a glimpse of the magnitude of His love for us, then it’s always a risk worth taking.

Loving is hard when you love from nothing. Loving becomes doable when you know you’ve been given everything. Jesus gave His everything. He loved this much. And if one is loved this much, it is no longer a question of whether we should love or not. We love because He first loved us.

A friend posted this song on Facebook and I find it to be the most appropriate ending to this entry. This is how much He loves. This is how much we are loved. This is what we remind ourselves when fear overtakes our resolve to love. This is why we can love, love some more, and love again and again.

 

 

 

 

