Uncategorized

30 Days of Gratitude: Day 27 (Monuments Over Momentum)

IMG_4501-28
When I was packing the stuff I’m bringing to Manila three years ago, I had decided to leave a lot behind – which wasn’t too hard as I am, somehow, a light packer (I can survive with whatever can fit into a backpack for a 3-4 day trip). What I knew I couldn’t leave though were my journals. 

 IMG_5708

There was a preaching from way back that talked about building monuments versus sustaining momentum. In the ministry and even in our Christian walk, we would often find it easier when we are gaining momentum, when everything is smooth and we are feeling productive, when God’s voice is so audible, when our relationships are at its best, when God feels so near. And so, we try so hard to sustain it that when tough times come, we strive instead of thrive. 

In the preaching, we were encouraged to build monuments for blessings and breakthroughs and everyday miracles as well as the unfolding of what was once beyond understanding. When the momentum dies down, we can look to the monuments we’ve built – monuments of our God-moments – and know for certain that He who began a good work in us will carry it out to completion. 

I had to make sure I brought those monuments with me when I moved. 

Writing this post made me remember an entry I wrote way back. I called it Before David and Goliath. Here is an excerpt:

So, why was David so confident that he can kill Goliath? When Saul tried to talk him out of the battle he is about to take on, which to me looked like a job interview where the interviewer asks the applicant about his credentials, here’s what David rolled out:

1 Samuel 17:34-36

But David said to Saul, “Your servant has been keeping his father’s sheep. When a lion or a bear came and carried off a sheep from the flock, I went after it, struck it and rescued the sheep from its mouth. When it turned on me, I seized it by its hair, struck it, and killed it. Your servant has killed the both the lion and the bear; this uncircumcised Philistine will be like one of them, because he has defied the armies of the living God.

Anyone would think this isn’t enough credentials for David to make the cut, but I’m glad I didn’t speak too soon. When the picture was painted for me through the discussion, I realized that this isn’t just an account of how David fought against a lion or a bear and that makes him qualified to fight a giant. This is David recalling the times when God delivered him from seemingly hopeless situations. His personal history with God fueled him to fight and fight he did.

Before David and Goliath, there was David and God.

 1 Samuel 17: 37 

The Lord who delivered me from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear will deliver me from the hand of this Philistine.

I am grateful for the gift of language   I am grateful that He has given us the means to put into writing that which our minds may eventually forget. But more than anything, I am grateful for every moment that had a monument as it, accompanied by His amazing, amazing grace, is what propels me to fight the good fight of faith every single day. 

I am about to finish another journal just in time for the closing of the year. As I look at the blank pages of what is to contain monuments for 2016, I can’t help but be excited and then wonder what kind of adventures He has in store in the coming days and months and years. There is one thing I am certain about though, each adventure with Him is and will always be awesome!

– – –

About 30 Days of Gratitude

I decided to breathe life into this blog some more by counting down to a special day exactly a month from now while counting the things I am thankful for in a day. I realized I’ve always found it hard to blog because I’ve been writing mostly musings and reflections, my tendency to debate and negate my own thoughts would usually make me decide against publishing posts (don’t ask how many drafts I have now). I figured day-in-a-life type of posts would probably help me get back to the discipline of writing even if a post would contain more pictures than words.

Leave a Reply

