I am grateful for the gift of home. 

About three weeks ago, my family called to tell me they’re getting me a ticket so I can come home for the weekend in time for our little Fiona’s birthday. That would be, as they said, their early birthday present to me as well. I remember thinking a few weeks before that that it has been almost three years since I actually got to celebrate my birthday with my family. How amazing that God would actually hear the cry of our hearts – no matter how faint. 

So, this weekend I got to come home.  

 

I got to come home to my Mom and got to date her for the day. 

  

And I got to come home to our little house that’s all prepped for Christmas, welcomed by my ever-loving, always supportive family.

  

There is a quote I came across a few months ago that perfectly describes what our home is to me and I think it would be the perfect close for this post. 

“Our homes should inspire us to go into the world to do great things and then welcome us back for refreshment.” 

– Melissa Michaels

– – –

About 30 Days of Gratitude
I decided to breathe life into this blog some more by counting down to a special day exactly a month from now while counting the things I am thankful for in a day. I realized I’ve always found it hard to blog because I’ve been writing mostly musings and reflections, my tendency to debate and negate my own thoughts would usually make me decide against publishing posts (don’t ask how many drafts I have now). I figured day-in-a-life type of posts would probably help me get back to the discipline of writing even if a post would contain more pictures than words.
   
 

 

