We just had the 14th Commencement Exercises of the School of Campus Ministry last night where we commissioned 35 new campus missionaries to doing vocational campus ministry. While I kinda dread the finding an outfit and fixing the hair and putting on make-up part, I’ve always looked forward to welcoming new colleagues and catching up with friends in the ministry who are serving in centers outside Metro Manila. Reunions are always one of life’s most beautiful moments.

It has been great seeing everyone I’ve served with back when I was a campus missionary in Davao. Most of these people were students back then. This only means one thing: I’m old. Ha!

L-R: Laurize (Campus Missionary), Dyne (currently working at the Every Nation Finance Department), Joppet (Regional Director for EN Campus Mindanao), Abet (one of the graduates who also got the Courageous Learner Award), J-Ann (Abet’s sister), Me, and Arby (incoming campus missionary who’s attending the School of Campus Ministry in January).

Probably not known to everyone, Abet got one of the highest Latin Honors in College. This is why we weren’t surprised he got the Courageous Learner Award. I remember watching Ice Age 4 with him and some other students and a few moments after the movie started, we were all laughing and then he exclaimed: “But where’s the liquid outer core?”

Arby was one of the most efficient admin volunteers we had during our events. He is also a prolific speaker and writer. I think though that he’d be even more prolific if he learns to overthink less. Wow, that came from me. ๐Ÿ˜€

My deal with Abet’s sister: Because we realized we were both relationally challenged, we decided to have a deal – that we would be each others BFFs so we could call each other out if we were being insensitive or apathetic or extremely introverted. We eventually realized, yes, we were thinking our way through everything still. ๐Ÿ˜€

Joppet (who perhaps didn’t get the it’s-not-yet-the-wacky-shot instruction ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ) just recently moved to Davao from Gen San to help the Davao team and he has been a tremendous blessing!
School of Campus Ministry graduations would also mean being reunited with some of my batchmates!

L-R: Christian (who’s currently in Law School), Joseph (who’s now the Senior Pastor of our church in Vigan), Me, Lyan (who’s the Campus Director of Lucban), Gimcy (Joseph’s wife), and Anj (Campus Director of Bayombong).

At our Staff Summit this year, EN Campus Lucban just got awarded a plaque for Excellence, Best in MPD, and most improved in MPD under the leadership of this woman who is also one of my closest friends and accountability partner in our batch! Super proud of you, Lyan! ๐Ÿ™‚
Before the night ended, we also got to catch up with Davao friends who are now based here in Luzon.

I will forever be grateful for friendships that stay strong despite of, in spite of.

– – –

About 30 Days of Gratitude

I decided to breathe life into this blog some more by counting down to a special day exactly a month from now while counting the things I am thankful for in a day. I realized Iโ€™ve always found it hard to blog because Iโ€™ve been writing mostly musings and reflections, my tendency to debate and negate my own thoughts would usually make me decide against publishing posts (donโ€™t ask how many drafts I have now). I figured day-in-a-life type of posts would probably help me get back to the discipline of writing even if a post would contain more pictures than words.

 

