Pardon the somewhat scholarly intro, but I promise there’s a point to this. 😁

I’ve been thinking about the many effects of social media posts on people lately and I just finished reading one that talks about the correlation between excessive use of social media and teen depression. The study reads:

The reason you are feeling depressed and anxious might be because of your daily social media activities.
According to Medical News Today (MNT), the new research revealed that teenagers, who frequently use social media and have high emotional investment in their social media sites, are found to have poorer sleep quality, lower self-worth and higher rates of anxiety and depression compared to those teenagers who were less engaged in social media.

I scan through my newsfeed and notice that most of the posts are life highlights, milestones, and breakthroughs. Sure there are occasional rants and news that are saddening, but posts I see are mostly celebratory. How ironic then that social media platforms are containers of joy and could lower self-esteem and cause anxiety and depression at the same time.

There probably are a lot of ways to explain this irony (and in a more scholarly manner at that) but I think the negatives surface when we look at other people’s joys and think that they’re living a life way better than ours, that they’re too happy and we’re too sad, that we do not have enough.

I think no one person would ever be fully content in his lifetime, but I believe it is possible to drown discontent with gratitude.

There is a lovely hymn that speaks of this –

“When upon life’s billows you are tempest-tossed,

When you are discouraged, thinking all is lost,

Count your many blessings, name them one by one,

And it will surprise you what the Lord has done.”

So, this is me counting my blessings for today.

It’s Christmas Party number two for me and it isn’t even December yet! Tonight was with the EN Campus Fort team.

 

 

Missing Ria, Pat, and Reynette here. These are ladies I am grateful to be colleagues, friends, and sisters with. It’s a blessing to be fulfilling the call of God alongside these passionate and faithful women!

 

I am grateful I get to work with teammates who make sure we work in an atmosphere of FUN, FAITH, and FAMILY!

 

The EN Campus Fort team minus a few people. It’s an honor and a privilege to be reaching the campuses of Taguig with these men and women!

May we ever be reminded to rejoice always, pray continually, [and] give thanks in all circumstances (1 Thess. 5:16-18)!

