The yuletide season sure looks especially long this year. I just got home about an hour ago from my first Christmas Party for 2015 with the EN Campus National team. We decided to have the party early as some would have to leave the country by the end of November and December would surely be packed for most of us.

This year would be my third time to join the annual Christmas dinner at the Nunags and I must say this is easily one of my favorite Christmas parties every year.

Entertainment over dinner tonight was care of Jerry!

 

I have come to love having our Christmas dinner early as we also get to celebrate the advent together. Tonight we lighted the Hope candle and prayed for the things we are hoping for in the coming year. I love that we can celebrate Christmas this early without losing sight of its meaning – celebrating the birth of Jesus, our true and living hope!


Instead of the usual exchanging of gifts through Kris Kringle, we did white elephant this year and it was so much fun!



It has also been part of our yearly tradition to contribute candies and goodies and then repack them to give to street kids and carolers.

 

We usually start by sorting all the goodies.

 

It has to be made sure that the same goodies are in one pile.

 

And then the assembly line of packing the loot bags begin!

 

Today, I am grateful to be part of a team that celebrates working hard at what we are called to do and at our relationships as well. I am equally grateful that we value generosity within the team and even to the community. Lastly, I am thankful that our celebrations are never about us but always about the goodness and the faithfulness of Jesus!


– – –

About 30 Days of Gratitude
I decided to breathe life into this blog some more by counting down to a special day exactly a month from now while counting the things I am thankful for in a day. I realized I’ve always found it hard to blog because I’ve been writing mostly musings and reflections, my tendency to debate and negate my own thoughts would usually make me decide against publishing posts (don’t ask how many drafts I have now). I figured day-in-a-life type of posts would probably help me get back to the discipline of writing even if a post would contain more pictures than words.


