My last meeting for the day was a mentoring session with the 4th Fiona I get to meet in my lifetime. On my way home, I did a recap of today in my head and realized that the highlights pointed to the fact that however seasons may change, we are individually called to a specific purpose. I am grateful that when times are tough and when they aren’t, we can rest secure that our circumstances equip us for our calling. It’s always a matter of calling.

The 4th Fiona I get to meet in my lifetime is an incoming campus missionary from EN Campus Sta. Rosa.

I spent the whole morning with the Staff Summit 2015 committee heads to officially close the project with a post-event evaluation. Towards the end of enumerating “did goods” and “do betters”, someone began to appreciate how each member of the team never complained about the weight of the job, were all very flexible with last-minute changes, and still served with so much joy despite getting less hours of sleep or being the last ones to take meals. Clearly, for everyone, it was a joy and a privilege to serve.

I’ve been thinking about this team’s composition and everything that happened during the execution of the event and I can’t help but be grateful that I am part of a team who would take note of what needs improvement and then would choose to see beyond flawed moments and celebrate the lasting impact of every God-moment.

While these men and women I have the provilege of working with are skilfull enough, I do not think they would go above and beyond what is required of them if they didn’t know that their assignment is part of their calling.

(L-R) Christian, Pam, Ahira, Abbie, Fiona, Me, Zam

Over lunch, I got to quickly catch up with two of my batchmates from the School of Campus Ministry. Francis (left) has transitioned to being the Building Admin of Victory U-belt and Christian (right) is now in Law School. I think about how we all seemingly had the same call (to be a campus missionary), but no path to one’s purpose and destiny is one and the same. We may be doing different things now, but we know where we are now is where we are called to be.


In the afternoon, we honored our admin staff who have served for 5, 10, 15, and 20 years in Every Nation. I love how Bishop Juray, in his closing speech said, “It is not about the length of time but the excellent work that was done for a long time.” That, for me, pretty much was the principle behind the event. And it is certain that these people have stayed this long because they know this is their calling.

The awardees being prayed for by the Apostolic Team

 

This year, I also got to celebrate with my good friend Yrose, who has been serving in our HR Department for 5 years now!

This year was the movement’s first time to award someone for 20 years of service.

Congratulations, Ms. Pinky! You are an inspiration!

In response, Ms. Pinky responded with a short, heartfelt speech. I had to take note of the statements that spoke so strongly about her character, her faith, and her sense of calling.

Twenty years is like a breeze if you work here. We work in a good place with good people. It never crossed my mind that working in the ministry is hard. Working for the honor of God is and will always be a privilege.

I got to answer quite a few questions during my time with Fiona and for most of them, I would always have to say that it’s a matter of calling. We stay secure in leadership, we protect and keep relationships, we keep the faith, we do hard things, we stand in the face of harder battles, we fight for our calling, we work to Honor God and make disciples because we know that we were made for this. At the end of each day, I am grateful that we do not have to walk aimlessly but towards the man and woman that God has purposed us to be.

– – –

About 30 Days of Gratitude

I decided to breathe life into this blog some more by counting down to a special day exactly a month from now while counting the things I am thankful for in a day. I realized I’ve always found it hard to blog because I’ve been writing mostly musings and reflections, my tendency to debate and negate my own thoughts would usually make me decide against publishing posts (don’t ask how many drafts I have now). I figured day-in-a-life type of posts would probably help me get back to the discipline of writing even if a post would contain more pictures than words.

 

