Faith, Uncategorized

30 Days of Gratitude: Day 1 (My First Manila Mini-tour) 

 

About 30 Days of Gratitude

So, I decided to breathe life into this blog some more by counting down to a special day exactly a month from now while counting the things I am thankful for in a day. I realized I’ve always found it hard to blog because I’ve been writing mostly musings and reflections, my tendency to debate and negate my own thoughts would usually make me decide against publishing posts (don’t ask how many drafts I have now). I figured day-in-a-life type of posts would probably help me get back to the discipline of writing even if a post would contain more pictures than words.

I am grateful to have gone on my first Manila mini-tour. I’ve always wanted to visit the National Museum. Today, I finally did!

At the National Museum entrance

 

The old session hall of the Philippine Senate is breathtaking!

 

I felt like I actually travelled back in time. Especially because everything around me was sepia.

 

 

Fell in love with this sight the moment I saw it!

 

 

IMG_4447
So much Corinthian/Grecian/Neo-classical influence here.
Still overwhelmed that I got to stand so close to this masterpiece. Confession time: seeing the Spolarium in real life almost moved me to tears. I held back because there were people around. 🙈

 

 

Needed to sit down to take in all the beauty that surrounded me.

 

 

In our Arts Appreciation class in college, we were required to memorize over 500 paintings (title, art style, era and all). The Parisian Life (that would be this painting) by Juan Luna was one of them. Also, this was in one of the scenes in the Heneral Luna movie. I was too amazed to be seeing it in real life, I couldn’t help but take a photo!

 

IMG_4419
I didn’t know we had a piece of the Berlin Wall given to us by the Germans!

We took a sidetrip to Luneta. Here’s a photo I managed to take sans the “photobomber”.

Also grateful for friends (old + new) for a great evening that capped today.

 

Left: Julian, Tristan, Ardee (hope I got the spelling right ) | Right: Dust, Carla, Me, Onie

 

Thank you, Lord for beautiful days like this!

Leave a Reply

