Purely Personal Pieces

Three Insights I Got From Watching “The Intern”

I just got back from a spontaneous movie night with friends and thought it’s the perfect time to write again. I am home, I’m the only one up, and the cricket sounds around here seem to be in perfect harmony with the clicking of my keyboard.

I am, however, giving myself just thirty minutes to write this entry for three reasons: One, I need to be in bed in a few as I have to be really early tomorrow (read: later); two, a deadline somehow decreases my almost inevitable tendency to overthink; and three, I really want to write my thoughts down because I don’t trust my brain’s capacity to store them long-term (shorter version: I am forgetful).

I would have tried to take a stab at writing a synopsis of The Intern as I could not find a comprehensive one online, but the introduction should be a dead giveaway to the fact that my
summary of the movie would be too long to read. So, this is the part where you will watch the movie trailer for context’s sake.

Except for a few inappropriate scenes and language, I love how the movie depicts the beauty of today’s corporate and social landscape (advanced, interactive, fast-paced) without discarding that of the past. There is so much to write, but I am narrowing my thoughts to three.

1. Much can be learned from the older generation.

Is not wisdom found among the aged? Does not long life bring understanding?
– Job 12:12

I think the term generation gap has evolved in meaning. While it should only refer to the difference in outlook or opinion of people from different generations, I would say it has eventually become a convenient justification for older people to dislike the ways of those who are younger and for the young to easily dismiss the wisdom of those who have lived longer than them.

I would like to believe that the gap between generations is never too wide – that it can be crossed so that the the ones who are older can guide the younger without stifling their zeal and snuffing out their passion for discovering, creating, and implementing something new; and that the ones who are younger would willingly receive wisdom, correction, and instruction from the generation that came before them.

2. Role reversal is never ideal.

The Bible provides us with a clear definition of the roles of men and women, of man and wife. I am all for women empowerment and as a woman-leader myself, I believe that God has given each of us a calling to pursue with passion and excellence. I love hearing stories of women succeeding in their lanes. But I was never for usurping men’s leadership in marriage.

I remember a preaching from a few year’s back where the pastor said: “Where there is a reversal of roles, there is only chaos.” I loved how the movie showed how role reversal created a tension within the home and how the wife, strong as she is, showed how she was willing to do what she can to ease the tension, and how the husband repents from his blunder (although I am not sure if he eventually played the entirety of his role as man of the household) and was secure enough to allow his wife to continue doing what she is passionate about. I think no woman is too strong for a man who takes the lead and takes the lead lovingly.

Note: Click here  for a helpful read on role reversal. 

3. No one is too old, too young, too much of a man or woman to give, learn, and grow.

God has placed so much in each of us that we can give to others – our time, our wisdom, our resources. There is so much to learn from every circumstance, from every person we meet, from every phase in our lives. And there will always be room to grow, no matter how grown-up we think we are.

Never hindered by age or gender or circumstance, may we live to spend every moment of our lives giving, learning, growing.

Leave a Reply

