Purely Personal Pieces

Weak and Strong

I was having a conversation with a student who was going through something a few months back. While she was trying so hard to hold back her tears, she said, “I don’t want to be weak.”

I looked at her and said, “Hey, it’s okay not to be okay. We all have to be weak enough to be vulnerable, and strong enough to rise again each time we fall.”

To be weak and strong at the same time is first ironic (the words being antonyms of each other), and then impossible.

God knew the world would define what strength should mean for us, He made sure we have this to take to heart:

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me…For when I am weak, then I am strong. – 2 Corinthians 12:9-10

I could have been asking that student to do the impossible if only He did not, for so many times now, made one thing clear to me: God has and will never be moved by our limited language, much less our finite minds’ failure to grasp His infinitude. When He says His power is at its strongest when we are at our weakest, it is so.

Leave a Reply

