I take comfort in the fact that there was nothing in the beginning until He spoke everything into being.

image

I got introduced to the term “horror vacui” in our arts appreciation class in college and learned how it is prevalent in the Filipino culture. You only have to see how intricately designed our jeepneys are or how lavishly decorated traditional Filipino homes could become to realize we could be anything but minimalists.

I later discovered my personal expression of such. I feared blank pages and the absence of workable ideas. The need to fill whatever lacked detail was of utmost importance. Clearly, I was uncomfortable with the nothingness that came with beginnings.

Until one day, God taught me to embrace nothingness and love beginnings. And He is teaching me still.

“In the beginning, God created…” – Genesis 1:1
“In the beginning was the Word and the Word was with God and the Word was God.” – John 1:1
“The fear of thr Lord is the beginning of wisdom…” – Proverbs 9:10
“…apart from you, I have no good thing.” – Psalm 16:2
“…apart from [Him], [we] can do nothing.” – John 15:5
“Call unto me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.” – Jeremiah 33:3

I take comfort in the fact that there was nothing in the beginning until He spoke everything into being – that a blank page can and would in no time be filled by Him; that He owns the well that springs ideas in constant abundance; that what is not will soon be.

Nothingness, you see, is not the absence of something. It is but a prelude to something beautiful.

