If you’ve been following my blog, you’d know that my Wednesday nights are usually spent with my coaching group. Tonight was rather different.

I attended the worship leaders’ meeting and learned a lot from Ptr. Joel Barrios. It’s just so refreshing to hear from one whose heart and passion for worship is just so genuine and contagious!

My take home from tonight's session: We cannot take for granted that which we've only received.
My take home from tonight’s session: We cannot take for granted that which we’ve only received.

Since I couldn’t make it to the coaching group tonight, I asked one of the members of my coaching group to facilitate tonight’s meeting.

Gel is in her 2nd Year at Enderun Colleges taking up BS Business Administration Major in Marketing.
Gel is in her 2nd Year at Enderun Colleges taking up BS Business Administration Major in Marketing. And no, that’s not her twin right there. That’s her younger sister.

Our meeting ended almost at the time I got Gel’s text message saying they’re about to close in prayer. Since I learned that most of them haven’t had dinner yet (and I was quite famished too), I decided to catch up.

Glad to have spent time with these girls after a long day. <3
Glad to have spent time with these girls after a long day. ❤

Tonight was a good reminder of Paul’s charge to Timothy:

And the things you have heard me say in the presence of many witnesses entrust to reliable people who will also be qualified to teach others.
– 2 Timothy 2:2

I called Gel up when I got home to ask how the coaching group went. I was amazed when I learned that she was actually praying for an opportunity for her to share God’s love and faithfulness to the group as well as encourage the rest of the girls.

Tonight was an answered prayer she wouldn’t have had if I gave in to my initial thought which was to cancel tonight’s coaching group meeting because I needed to be at another event.

Tonight was an answered prayer she wouldn’t have had if I turned a deaf ear to the Holy Spirit’s direction.

Leading comes closer to a full circle when there’s an act of “letting.” When we make disciples, we have to make sure we impart to them the heart to lead and make disciples as well. I’m thankful someone taught me the value of raising leaders out of members early on.  But I’m even more grateful that someone trusted me enough to give me platforms and opportunities to develop leadership skills. 

I am ending this post with a prayer for every disciple-making disciple:

May our “leading” be ever accompanied by “letting”
And trust that everyone is called to lead.
And may our “letting” be ever accompanied by His leading,
So we’d know who’s ready for the deed.

 

 

 

 

