Purely Personal Pieces, Random Verse of the Day, Reflections

Counter clockwise

I first came face to face with a reverse clock at an artsy tea place here in Davao when I came home in July. I wasn’t able to take a photo of the clock and I haven’t dropped by the tea place again yet, but for those who don’t have any idea what I’m talking about, here’s something I got online:

Reverse Clock

“How very interesting that that simple gadget tells customers of a present truth (the time at whatever point they would look at the clock) in a very unconventional manner. How very ingenious,” I thought to myself then.

I had the same thought when I read Jeremiah 31:3.

The Lord appeared to us in the past, saying: “I have loved you with an everlasting love…
– Jeremiah 31:3

How very interesting that the declaration of a present truth (His love, at whatever point His people would come to hear of and experience it) should be done in a very unconventional manner.

The Lord, in His greatness and majesty and sovereignty, appeared to a people so wicked and flawed and disobedient and prideful (this can go on and on) to tell of a love that was, is, and will always be.

Fast forward to hundreds of years later…

The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us…
– John 1:14

How very interesting that the declaration of a present truth then was also a declaration of a truth that, while unbound by time, used time to its advantage so that it’s fulfillment would become the greatest love story ever told!

And yes, He does things in a very unconventional manner! Talk about genuine ingenuity! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

