Family

Around 500 Miles Back

It’s been almost seven months since I started working in Metro Manila. That’s almost seven months of living approximately 500 miles away from home.

The prophetic word in May of last year said: “I want you to take an adventure with me.” I had no idea it would be this kind of adventure. Although the last six months have been amazingly awesome, I can certainly say it’s good to be back – even just for a while.

Here are a few photos from my first two days here:

Dinner at home
I didn’t tell my Mom I was going home and I went straight to her office from the airport. Too bad I wasn’t able to document her reaction when she saw me. We had lunch at Abreeza after she finally was able to stop crying. πŸ˜€ I wasn’t able to get a copy of the photo we took over lunch too. This one though is taken during our dinner at home. It’s good to share a meal with the fam again!
Today, I got to do "Ate-duties" for my inaanak. I'm an only child so today was my first time to help a four-year take a bath, get dressed with her uniform, prepare her stuff, and then bring her to school. I super enjoyed it though. 'Twas yet another learning experience!
Today, I got to do “Ate-duties” for my inaanak. I’m an only child so today was my first time to help a four-year take a bath, get dressed with her uniform, prepare her stuff, and then bring her to school. I super enjoyed it though. ‘Twas yet another learning experience!
And then I ran to my first scheduled date with Julianne. Grub is one of my favorite restos in the city and is conveniently near the Victory Davao center at Duterte Street. 'Twas great catching up with this young lady and sharing good food with her too.
And then I ran to my first scheduled date with Julianne. Grub is one of my favorite restos in the city and is conveniently located near the Victory Davao center at Duterte Street. ‘Twas great catching up with this young lady and sharing good food with her too.
And then I visited Victory Davao's admin office - my almost everyday rendezvous for more than two years since I started serving as a Campus Missionary. It's great to have seen familiar faces! Eyz here asked Julianne to take a picture of us showing his shorts since it was the next thing I commented on after saying "hi" to him.
And then I visited Victory Davao’s admin office – my almost everyday rendezvous for more than two years since I started serving as a Campus Missionary. It’s great to have seen familiar faces!Β Eyz here asked Julianne to take a picture of us showing his shorts since it was the next thing I commented on after saying “hi” to him.
Coffee break
After a relatively short yet totally encouraging talk with Ptr. Alvin, Sheldon (the guy in glasses) picked me up at the center and then we headed to Starbucks Abreeza to meet up with Ate Leizel and Arlan. These guys, together with a few others, are my constant hang-out crowd back then.

We left Abreeza at around 6:30pm and headed back to the Victory Davao center to attend the Worship Night. I was too consumed with worship I didn’t bother taking a picture. I sure did miss the atmosphere of worship here!

Pepper Lunch Dinner
Our last stop for the day – dinner at Pepper Lunch with Jason, Monica and their kids, my Mom, Ana, Ate Leizel, Sheldon, and Arlan.

I’m ending today with overflowing gratitude in my heart. There’s just so much to be thankful for – friends, family, home. Excited for the coming days! It sure is good to be around 500 miles back!

Leave a Reply

