Campus Ministry, Leadership, Mentoring, Ministry

Mentoring 101.2

Okay, this post is long overdue but I’m glad I get to write it just now.

This afternoon, I had the privilege to be mentored by one who has done ministry way ahead of me. Here’s a picture of us after having yet another great conversation over lunch:

Ate Weng was the one who did One2One with me. She was my first Victory Group leader and even though they have already moved to Tagum with her family to plant a church there, she never fails to check on me every once in a while. Also, every once in a while, we get to hang out and just catch up. Most of the time though, we only talk through the phone.

I write this not only to honor Ate Weng and all the others who have sown knowledge and wisdom and God’s Word in my life but also to share what I’ve learned, some of which I realized along the way, on how we can become better at mentoring others.

When you’re working towards becoming a better mentor or getting ready to mentor someone:

1. Prepare by praying. Proverbs 9:10 says “The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, and the knowledge of the Holy One is understanding.” Our prayer should always be that the wisdom and the knowledge that we will impart is not of us but is of Him.

2. Remember that you don’t have to know everything. One of the things that hinder us from mentoring others is that we feel like we do not know enough, that we’re not equipped enough, that we’re not qualified. But here’s the thing: we will never be learned enough, we will never be equipped enough, we are never going to be qualified for anything. One of the most comforting statements I’ve heard during a preaching is this: “God does not call the qualified. He qualifies the called.”

3. Don’t hold anything back. I’m blessed to be working in an organization where people are encouraged to share what they’ve learned to anyone who needs to add to their learning. I also like how we are always told to work like we are leaving. Fact is, we will not be around forever. Someone else needs to know what we know. Someone else needs to know how we do what we do. So while it’s necessary for us to gather and store a lot of information in our head so we would grow as individuals, it’s equally necessary for us to download the information we get to others. I’m thinking of this as making back-ups for the files we’ve saved. I like how Paul wrote to Timothy about this in 2 Timothy 2:2, “And the things you have heard me say in the presence of many witnesses entrust to reliable men who will also be qualified to teach others.”

4. Get a mentor. In my previous post, I wrote about why we need to be mentored. We cannot give what we do not have. We need mentors to be better mentors.

“let the wise listen and add to their learning,
    and let the discerning get guidance—”
-Proverbs 1:5

Leave a Reply

