Grace.

I wonder if my understanding of the word is enough to embody the fullness of its beauty.

A few minutes ago, I looked back at everything that happened today. Things can get so overwhelming and I can’t help but wonder if I have what it takes to embrace a responsibility this big.

I sit here and take a glimpse of the view from outside the window – the traffic, people crossing the street, attendants serving customers at the bread shop, a group of ladies smiling at the conversation they’re having over dinner at the fast food chain across the cafe I’m at. There is so much life happening around me and I can’t help but be thankful that the world is not in total chaos becauseย “He is before all things, and IN HIM ALL THINGS HOLD TOGETHER. (Colossians 1:17)”

And then I am reminded of the verse I read this morning. “What if some did not have faith? Will their lack of faith nullify God’s faithfulness? Not at all! (Romansย 3:3-4a)

The beauty of His grace is this – that His faithfulness is enough to cover for whatever it is that we lack; that He can keep things together even when people decide to let go; that in His awesome power, He can call things that are not as though they were.

I sit here and think about how beautiful today has been.

I was preparing for a meeting and people came up to me to ask how they can help.

I wasn’t able to take my lunch and was already feeling a bit famished when someone came and told me there’s a burger on my table.

I was so consumed with the day’s chores and was already feeling a bit tired when I found out that someone left a surprise waiting for me on my desk.

I was thinking about how to go about my responsibilities when someone sent me a text message that said: “Basta Ems, anytime. Count me in.”

I think about the hug I got from one of the volunteers from the music team, the text message I received a while ago asking how I am, the conversation I had with my colleague, the discussion I had with our tech guy, the short brainstorming session I had with some of the members of the coordination team.

I think about how carefully He has woven my today’s story so it would coherently fit into the story of other people’s lives and while this song is playing over and over again on my phone’s music player, I can’t help but smile at the thought of Him:

When I think of sunlight piercing through the clouds
That paint a perfect sky
I think of the silver lining of Your love
And I think of You
When I think of streams that weave through desert lands
As beauty comes alive
I think of the healing fountain of Your grace in my life
In my life

And I think of You who shines with endless light
Through broken jars of clay
And I think of You redeeming every part of each day
That you’ve made
And I think of you

When I think of children laughing full of wonder
And families reconciled
I think of the joy that’s found in answered prayer
And it makes me smile
Makes me smile

And I think of You who shines with endless light
Through broken jars of clay
And I think of You redeeming every part of each day
That You’ve made
And I think of You

For redemption’s now that story of my soul
‘Cause it was You who paid the highest price
For broken jars of clay
And You still choose to use my life
For Your glory displayed

And I think of You who shines with endless light
Through broken jars of clay
And I think of You redeeming every part of each day
That You’ve made
And I think of You

I think of You

ย 

