Following Jesus, God's Love, Purely Personal Pieces

Colored Balls and Penguins

I was telling my friend Ivan how weird the season I’m in right now is. We didn’t have the luxury of time so instead of delving into the details, he asked me to describe what the road I’m walking on looked like.

The picture was clear in my head.

The road had a lot of colored balls on it. Yes, it’s a fun to look at but it makes walking a bit harder. Then, some more balls are thrown into the road and out of the blue, some penguins would block the way. (I have no idea why I saw penguins and what they’re supposed to stand for. But if they’re not supposed to symbolize anything, I think they’re in the picture just because I find them cute.)

A lot of things happened the past few weeks, especially the past few days. And weird things at that. The heartbreak, the transitions, the series of unusually vivid dreams, new people coming into the picture, people from the past suddenly joining the present, people in the present requiring more patience and grace – colored balls and some more thrown my way.

A few posts ago, I wrote about how life is a journey, that there is a destination, and that we are bound by time. And getting to where He needs me to be would mean I need to keep moving forward. While I am occasionally tempted to ask why, the Scriptures overwhelm me with stories of how He would always come through. And in the middle of my complaining, my ranting, my grumbling, I would find myself in that place where He would take me by the hand and show me how He, because of His great love for me, intricately formed the world and beautifully laid out and accomplished His plan to redeem me from the claws of death. There, in that same place, I am brought to my knees yet again and as if reliving that moment when Job replies to the Lord Almighty’s wonderfully apt and exceptionally thorough display of His Sovereignty in words, I pray this prayer:

“I know You can do all things;
no plan of Yours can be thwarted.
You asked ‘Who is this that obscures
my counsel without
knowledge?
Surely I spoke of things I did not
understand,
things too wonderful for me to
know.
“You said, ‘Listen now, and I will
speak;
I will question you,
and you shall answer me.’
My ears had heard of You
but now my eyes have seen You.
Therefore I despise myself
and repent in dust and ashes.”
-Job 42:2-6

Colored balls and penguins or none at all
or whatever gets thrown my way,
Give me the grace to stop asking why and take the step anyway.

1 thought on “Colored Balls and Penguins”

  1. I still find the picture funny and interesting at the same time. Appear to the penguins! Haha..

    I remember the lines from David Campbell’s song “You Know Better Than I” from some of your lines:

    “If this has been a test
    I cannot see the reason
    But maybe knowing I don’t know
    Is part of getting through”

    I mean, I believe all of us have their own seasons to pass through, even I believe in my season I’m having a lot of “why” questions as well. But the verse you placed here shut off much of my questions actually. I mean, I wouldn’t want to wait for the time that He would actually show up thunderously in front of me and say “Who is this that obscures my plans with words without knowledge? (Job 38:2)”

    But as you said, it’s also a journey, an adventure.
    So hold on, I believe beyond the colored balls and penguins is something far greater than what we could fathom. 🙂

    “We’re all in this together.”

Leave a Reply

