I was walking from the entrance of our village on my way home. The moon lit up the skies. And the stars, they were all in place. Before I went through our gate, I decided to look up and found myself staring at the moon. And then I thought to myself, “Hey, this is the same sky I’ve been looking up to for the past 25 years!”

Yet the same sight never fails to leave me in awe each and every time.

I stayed on that spot, for quite some time and pondered about His greatness. How, even though there are times when the skies aren’t as beautiful, how life isn’t as beautiful, there are always moments like these that I can look forward to; how His love for me remains the same despite my imperfection; how He can afford to pursue me each and every day. And then, out of sheer gratitude and an overwhelmed heart, I sang (yes, in the middle of the street):

You never change
You’re still the same
You are the everlasting God
You will remain
After the day is gone
And the things of earth have passed
Everlasting God

And then the sweetest thing happened.

The wind blew. Hard enough to move the leaves of the coconut trees lined up beside the road; hard enough for me to hear the leaves moving. But it was so soft I never really felt cold. And during that moment, He spoke to my heart: “Yes love, I am here. I am here with you. I have loved you with an everlasting love. And I will never tire of loving you, of pursuing you, of taking care of you. I am here and I  always will be.”

And then the wind stopped.

And I, with tears in my eyes, stood there for a few more seconds, in awe of how real this relationship is. Amazed at how He can just come through at any given moment and make me fall for Him over and over again. And thankful for the many times that He has made me feel so loved despite my imperfection.

And for some reason, I felt overly excited for everything that is to come.

 

“Lift your eyes and look to the heavens:
Who created all these?
He who brings out the starry host one
by one,
and calls them each by name.
Because of His great power and mighty
strength,
not one of them is missing.”
-Isaiah 40:26 

