Someone told me she read something that says: Partial obedience is a subtle act of rebellion.

I couldn’t agree more.

And then she went on with how she got convicted about not fully obeying God every time, which to me sounded a lot more like frustration.

I understood.

The thought of failing God over and over and over again IS frustrating. And if we’re not careful, condemning. That is when we are not in the right posture.

I simply told her, it’s good that we feel convicted every time we disobey God. But, we have to make sure we LEAVE ROOM FOR GRACE.

Grace is what enables us to do things that, in our frailty, seem no less than impossible. Grace is what keeps us standing even though we feel like giving up. Grace is what fuels us to continue running the race when, left to our own, we would definitely be wanting out. And that very same grace that God has so lovingly poured out on us, when all we ever deserved was judgment, makes it possible for us to obey Him and daily choose to live in the center of His will.

And grace can only come from Him.

Obedience that is done on our own strength will always be partial. His grace is what completes our obedience.

” I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in. Him, he will bear much fruit; APART FROM ME YOU CAN DO NOTHING. -John 15:5″

