Understading

First things first, the title is not a typo. ๐Ÿ˜›

I suddenly felt like expounding on what we have discussed during our life group this afternoon. I’m determined to keep this short “so as not to take much more of your time” (MPD presentation hangover).

Okay, here goes.

Understanding Understanding is, somehow, inspired by last week’s MAJOR, MAJOR trending topic on Twitter and Facebook.

(The word understanding here is defined as the the capacity for rational thought or inference or discrimination.)

I first asked the girls to define “understanding” in their own words. Probably because they are faced with much more complex words, ideas, and concepts in school, it took them quite a few minutes to come up with answers.

I then told them the story of how something dawned on me last Monday. I was in a training with Pastor Chinkee Tan as our facilitator. After discussing a particular idea, he asked a very common question: “Do you understand?”

My reflexes moved me to utter the word “Yes” and then in a split second I asked again. Do I really understand?

I looked at all of them and saw in their faces that they knew what I was talking about.

Many times, we have said yes to this question either because the standard answer is yes or because we just want the person asking us to get on with the discussion. Sometimes we say yes not because we understand what was being talked about but simply because we understood the question. And because we know what the question means, we answer it according to how it should be answered.

When we ask random people if they pray, most of them would say yes. The question is, do they understand why they pray or why they must pray?

When we ask random people if they believe in God, most of them would say yes. But do they understand what believing in God entails?

When we ask random people if they believe in what the bible says, a good number would say yes. But do they understand that when we believe in what the Bible says, it would follow that we are to DO what it says?

Proverbs 3:5 tells us how to address “understanding” dilemmas.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.

Human reasoning would most likely fail to fully grasp the truth in the faith that we have but TRUST breaks through everything we call logical. In the end, it’s all about trusting God unwaveringly. Trusting God with all of our hearts means we read the Bible because we recognize it as Him talking to us, we pray because we are certain that when we talk He hears us, and we believe in Him because we know that He is alive and real.

Okay, I’m not sure if this fits your category of short but I did try. ๐Ÿ˜‰

