Of Faith and Mountains

Matthew 17:20 has always been comforting. “…if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move form here to there’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.”

I have, ever since, been praying for my faith to get stretched out enough for me to make and see mountains move ( you may or may not take that literally). But after having attended three services at three different venues (naks, religious ba? :P) and hearing three different but equally powerful versions of the preaching about God being our El Shaddai, I have come to fully understand how the God I am serving is not only one who can grant me faith that is mountain-moving but the God of the Mountains Himself.

El Shaddai – My God is the God Almighty

Genesis 17: 1 – “…I am God Almighty.”

He is the God who provides, my comforter, my redeemer, my rock, my stronghold. The list of who and what God is to me can go on and on. And these have appeared so many times in the songs that I write. But all of these, all of the characteristics of God that I know of has just been summed up to this – – He is THE God Almighty. He is all-powerful. He is all-sufficient. God can be anything for us if He is everything to us. God can be anything for us because He is our everything.

El Shaddai – My God is the God of the Mountains

Abraham was tested in Mt. Moriah so he can experience God’s provision.

Noah ended up in Mt. Ararat and saw the extent of God’s protection and salvation.

Moses was in Mt. Horeb when He received God’s calling. He had to climb Mt. Sinai to receive God’s revelation.

Elijah was on top of a mountain when he battled it out against the prophets of Baal and saw the fire of God fall down from heaven.

Jesus was crucified in Golgotha and the whole mankind was redeemed from their sins.

We sometimes get so consumed with the idea that our God is a mountain-mover (well, i’m not saying He’s not) and somehow miss the fact that even Jesus had to climb all the way to the top of a hill in order for salvation to be granted to all mankind. Abraham, Noah, Moses, and Elijah had to climb their own mountains and experienced the fullness of the power of God when they were on top of it.

My point? You can always ask God to move your mountains but sometimes, greater revelation comes when you choose to climb the mountain and be on top of it.

Psalm 43:3 Send forth Your light and Your truth, let them guide me; let them bring me to Your holy mountain, to the place where You dwell.

Leave a comment