The Jeepney Ride Home

“In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works…” -Matthew 5:16

The jeepney driver took the twenty-peso bill from my hand and handed two coins a few seconds later. I realized he gave me P6 when he was supposed to take P14 because the fare was for two people. Realizing that he mistook the five-peso coin as a one-peso coin, overlooking the fact that he was overcharging (he clearly was supposed to take P16 from us), I gave the change back to him. He took it and then handed me P4.

And then I saw what God wanted me to learn from that situation.

Be honest even if others are not. You’ll never know how many dishonest people would have a change of heart because they see how you chose to do what is right.

The jeepney driver took the twenty-peso bill from my hand and handed two coins a few seconds later. I realized he gave me P6 when he was supposed to take P14 because the fare was for two people. Realizing that he mistook the five-peso coin as a one-peso coin, overlooking the fact that he was overcharging (he clearly was supposed to take P16 from us), I gave the change back to him. He took it and then handed me P4.

And then I saw what God wanted me to learn from that situation.

Be honest even if others are not. You’ll never know how many dishonest people would have a change of heart because they see how you chose to do what is right.

