The human mind tends to delight on its own brilliance. This probably is the reason why we get excited with every discovery and every success that we are able to achieve.

Self-reliance is a virtue that was taught in school. I even remember having to declare that as part of an oath we had to recite when we go camping. As I allowed myself to get to know my Maker more day after day, I learned that self-reliance or even trusting only that which my brain classifies as logical is something that I have to slowly let go of.

Today I am reminded that the constant yearning to always have faith in Him; that seemingly unwavering desire to be of service to Him, does not come from me. He has chosen me to have that desire. He works IN me to will and to act according to His purpose. I cannot, in any way, take the credit. He chose me because He loves me. He died for me because He wants me to live.

You did not choose me but I chose you and appointed you to go and bear fruit – fruit that will last. -John 15:16

