Uncategorized

The True Vine

I am the true vine, and my Father the vinedresser. Every branch of mine that does not bear fruit he takes away, and every branch that does not bear fruit he prunes, that it may bear fruit. Already you are clean because of the word that I have spoken to you. Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you unless you abide in me. I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing. ~John 15: 1-5

Today, God gave me a brand new understanding of this verse. Once again, I am reminded to never confuse activity with productivity and that too much activity can result to you pleasing people instead of pleasing Him. Then again, God gave me the assurance that no matter what happens, I can always count on Him. No matter how painful the pruning process is, and even when He decides to uproot me from where I am right now, I will always end up a better person, a better daughter, a better Christian. I can never be better than the others. I can never be perfect. But even then, I know that by simply choosing to always abide in the One True Vine, I can do all things.

I am currently in the process of reconnecting with Him. I am trying to find that which I have lost. And I’m glad God has allowed me to meet people who, in their own little ways, have encouraged me to move forward, to never let guilt overtake me, and to always look to Christ no matter what happens.

I’m still running the race. I’m taking a different track, but I’m still running, trusting that even when I’d be the last person who’ll reach the finish line, He’ll still be there, with His arms open wide. And He will hug me and tell me that it is not about how fast I ran but how far I’ve gone.

Leave a Reply

